The 2016 Lilly Awards

  • Monday, May 23rd, 2016 at Irene Diamond Stage at Signature Theatre in New York City.

Presenters included: Diane Paulus, Lupita N’yongo, Russell G. Jones, Neena Beber, Lloyd Suh, Howard McGillin, and Gloria Steinem. The Lilly Awards honored Norbert Leo Butz for his work with The Angel Band Project, and his work as an advocate to end violence against women, and the Daryl Roth Creative Spirit Award was announced. This new award will be given annually as an apprenticeship for a woman artist in the fields of tech or design.



The First International Lilly Award
Waking The Feminists

Lilly Award in Playwriting
Danai Gurira

Lilly Award in Acting
Jessie Mueller

Lilly Award in Directing
Kate Whoriskey

Leah Ryan Prize
Genne Murphy

Lilly Award for Speaking Truth to Power
Martha Plimpton

The New York Women’s Foundation Directing Apprenticeship Award
Candis Jones

Stacey Mindich “Go Write a Play Award”
Rehana Lew Mirza

Lilly Award in Activism
Kathy Najimy

Lilly Award in Trailblazing
Mia Katigbak

Ceremony Photography by Emma Pratte; Red Carpet Photography by Zach Ranson


Portraits by Emma Pratte